At Salendine Nook we currently have 14 Governors. The Governing Body is made up of three Member Governors, three Additional Governors, two Co-Opted Governors, two Staff Governors, three Parent Governors and the Principal, Mr. Christian. In addition to the three elected Parent Governors, a number of the other Governors are also parents and others are parents of students who have recently left the school. This ensures that the people who are probably our biggest stakeholders are very well represented and have a say in how the school is run and managed. Our Governors come from a wide variety of backgrounds and professions, which ensures that we have the necessary skills and experience to carry out our role professionally. We are chaired by Mr Mark Mitchell and the Vice Chair is Mr Andrew Bird.

We hold five full Governing Body meetings each year. We also have three sub-committees;

Curriculum and Monitoring
Finance, Staffing and General Purposes
Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare

Each of these committees has a different Chair and meet on a regular basis.

A note from the Chair of Governors, Mr Mark Mitchell.

When Mr Christian was appointed Principal, we decided that this was an excellent time to ensure that we were still “fit for purpose” and carried out a full review of all aspects of how we operate which included a Skills Audit to ensure we have the right people in place and to highlight any skills gaps. We then also reviewed our membership of the committees to ensure that all our Governors’ skills were being used effectively. By doing so we are now sure we can work with Mr Christian to achieve our aim of achieving an Ofsted grade of Outstanding for Salendine Nook Academy.

Should you wish to contact the Governing Body about how the school is Governed, joining the Governing Body or about any other matter relating to the school, this can be arranged via Miss Gemma Whitelam at

Raising a concern

If you wish to raise a concern or make a formal complaint, please see the complaints policy

In the first instance we would always request that the school is given an opportunity to resolve any such issue. If this is unsuccessful and you still wish to contact the governing body, this can be arranged through Miss Gemma Whitelam at

Current List of Governors

Member Governors:
Mr M Mitchell (Chair) – 11.05.20 – 10.05.24
Mr A Bird (Vice Chair) – 28.09.20 – 27.09.24
Mr D Owen – 10.04.21 – 09.04.25

Additional Governors:
Mr N Dodd – 28.04.18 – 27.04.22
Mr I Gibson – 12.12.19 – 11.12.23
Mr M Caufield – 03.12.20 – 02.12.24

Co-opted Governors
Mrs V Newham – 24.01.20 – 23.01.24
Miss S Hepworth – 13.01.20 – 12.01.24

Parent Governors
Mr J Wood – 27.11.17 – 26.11.21
Mrs T Field -15.11.17 – 14.11.21
Mrs F Johnson – 11.03.19 – 10.03.23

Staff Governors
Mrs A Carolan (Teaching) – 20.11.19 – 19.11.23
Mr J Smith (Teaching) – 19.10.17 – 18.10.21

Salendine Nook High School Academy Governors

As of April 2021 (including terms of office).

Please select a sub-committee below to view its list of members.

  • To oversee the provision of a school curriculum and environment which allows students of all abilities to achieve their potential.
  • To review and evaluate teaching and learning, pupil achievement, progress and standards.
  • To oversee and maintain the effectiveness of the Governing Body.

Terms of Reference

Andrew Bird (Chair)
Mark Mitchell
Nick Dodd
Ian Gibson
Anne-Marie Carolan
Martin Caufield
Darren Christian (Principal)